Rollfilm

Trent Parke

Posted in Photoblog, Photography by Rollfilm on March 3, 2007

“For the last few years I have been documenting the streets of Sydney.”

“My photographs are more questions than answers. I use photography as a way to help me understand why I am here. The camera helps me to see.”

“When I was young my mother died suddenly of an asthma attack. From that day on I questioned everything around me – life, death and our reason for being. Forever searching.”

“There is no hard journalistic line to the photographs. They are, however, real moments in time, drawn from the masses, of life in Sydney. Some say this is a very different, unrealistic view from the traditional way Sydney is shown. For me it is as real and normal as when I walk out the door every day. Reality is only as real as everyone’s own perceptions of what is normal.”

Trent Parke is represented by Magnum Photos and Stills Gallery

[Text from in-public.com]

01.jpg

07.jpg

08.jpg

09.jpg

12.jpg

21.jpg

More information and photographs can be found on in-public.com

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susanna said, on March 3, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Like I said I’d love to have some spare £900 to get a print… now to play the lottery!😀

  2. colombo said, on March 3, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    love his work.

    you forgot the magnuminmotion.com link.

  3. Darin said, on March 5, 2007 at 12:49 am

    I saw that site a long time ago but that 1st still is amazing.


Leave a Reply

