Rollfilm

Armed America: Portraits of Gun Owners in Their Homes

Posted in America, Books, Kyle Cassidy by Rollfilm on October 15, 2007

Kyle Cassidy traveled 15,000 miles over two years photographing Americans in their homes and asking one question:

“Why do you own a gun?”

I love history and I love old mechanical devices — guns are both. I also enjoy target shooting.”

When I was diagnosed with cancer I found myself and my family in need of protection. I was too old to fight, too sick to run, and since cancer took my vocal cords, I couldn’t yell for help. I purchased
my first ever firearm.”

My family had guns the whole time I was a kid. then i went off and joined the army and went away and come back. I have guns now largely for the same reason I have fire extinguishers in the house and spare tires in the car. I’m a self reliant kind of guy. and there could come a time when I need to protect my family and i’m a self reliant kind of guy.”

I have one for self protection. I was raised to never rely on anyone else to protect me or watch my back. It took me a year to pick out one that I liked.”

Check out http://www.armedamerica.org/ for more informations and photos!

Leave a Reply

